Posted by: Renee Gerber | April 18, 2009

Celebrity Century Review

Some of you may have noticed that I have been gone for a few days. I just returned from a wonderful Seminar at Sea on the Celebrity Century. Before you ask…yes, we did have seminars and learned while enjoying the beautiful ship and weather. We couldn’t have asked for better weather if we tried. Not a wave in the ocean or a cloud in the sky the entire time we were sailing. An ideal cruise. Now for the ship and the good stuff…

The Celebrity Century was built in 1995. It recently underwent a $55 million dollar refurbishment in 2006. What a difference a little refurb can make! During the refurbishment, Celebrity Cruises added the specialty dining restaurant, Murano, made the Fun Factory larger, added alot of balcony cabins, added the Martini bar and so much more. Having a capacity of just under 1,900 people, makes this ship an ideal size.

Venues– if you are looking for a ship with several venues in which to sit, relax, have a drink or just listen to some music, you will find it on the Century. There are the Rendevoux Square, Crystal Room, Hemispheres Lounge, and the Martini Bar to name a few. They are never fully crowded and the service is impeccable.

Dining and Service– our waitstaff in the Dining Room was the best we have ever experienced. Victor, the waiter, for table 617 is the happiest, most professional waiter I have seen on any cruise ship. I think he goes to bed with a permanent smile on his face.

Staterooms– since this was a Seminar at Sea, we did not have a choice of stateroom categories.
We had an interior cabin, a first for me. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. It had plenty of room for the two of us, a flat panel TV, table, chair and makeup area. The bathroom was a nice size. The shower was especially spacious. My only complaint was that the shower had a curtain that tended to cling to you rather than glass doors. I think I can get over this!

Entertainment– we only saw one show. It was not the best entertainment on the high seas but it was enough to keep us entertained. We also experienced a first for us…a member of the Activities Staff proposed to one of the Dancers onstage at the end of the show. She said YES!

Pool– the pool had a decent set up with 4 large hottubs. At times, it seemed like there might not be a chaise lounge for everyone, but that proved to be wrong. It is very relaxing with enough space for those that like it in the sun (me) and for those that like it in the shade (my husband).

Overall, I think this is my new favorite ship. It is not too crowded and has incredible and friendly staff in every department that are ready to serve you at a moments notice. Celebrity has sure done something right here. I can’t wait to return to the Century.

I have a group set up on the Century from February 11 to 15, 2010. If you want to join me and are interested in pricing, give me a call at 866-568-0022 or email me at RGerber@CruiseOne.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

